Water Snakes

Moderators: Daves, admin, Phil, billbo

dougw

Water Snakes

Post by dougw » Mon May 16, 2011 10:41 pm

Did anyone else notice the number of swimming snakes(some quite large) on the Southwest end of the Lake?... The damned things wanted to get into our boat....arghhhhh...You'd think that the large Notherns and Bass would be picking up some easy meals...
I've been coming to Black Lake since 1967...

Tori

Re: Water Snakes

Post by Tori » Tue May 17, 2011 8:21 am

I saw some black snakes on the north end and they were big enough to eat the fish.....not fish eating snakes!
Tori

johncran

Post by johncran » Tue May 17, 2011 11:49 am

We're next door to the Log Cabins and last weekend I was walking down to the shoreline and almost stepped on a coiled 3 foot brown and tan. I'm not familiar with snake species so it really scared the livin' bejeebers out of me. I just happened to look down and there he was!! I made a few casts off the dock and here comes another one swimming towards me, gives me the willies just thinkin' about it! :shock:

Fishpro

Post by Fishpro » Tue May 17, 2011 12:26 pm

The snakes that you are seeing are probably Diamond Back watersnakes.